Tagged: TABPHE Toggle Comment Threads | Keyboard Shortcuts

  • andrea.vasquez 11:43 am on March 26, 2018 Permalink | Reply
    Tags: , TABPHE   

    TABPHE 2018 

    The Texas Association of Black Personnel in Higher Education (TABPHE) held their annual conference in Houston, Texas, at Hyatt Regency from February 22nd-February 25th. This year’s conference was a collaboration between TABPHE and TABSE (Texas Alliance of Black School Educators), an organization that represents K-12.  The conference theme was “Educate, Engage and Empower”:  The Time is NOW!”

    San Jacinto College has consistently had a large presence at the TABPHE conferences throughout the years, but this year faculty, staff, students and administrators made an outstanding contribution making sure the conference was a success!  Dr. Alexander Okwonna served as the TABPHE conference chair (also a board member). Dr. DeRhonda McWaine served as the registration committee chair (and her volunteers consisted of Dr. Lindsay Banks, Dr. LaToya Gilmore, Karyn Jones, LaVena Wilder and Francheska Williams).   Dr. Lamar McWaine (an executive board member and historian) and professor Tonja Conerly served as the programming committee co-chairs (with Dr. Kimberly Thomas, Bradford Traywick and Joseph Hebert serving as volunteers).  A special contribution was made by our Tech Support department under the leadership of Gus Sronce, who provided technology support (More …)

  • andrea.vasquez 12:52 pm on April 5, 2016 Permalink | Reply
    Tags: TABPHE, Texas Association of Black Personnel Higher Education   

    San Jac faculty and staff attend 2016 TABPHE conference 

    San Jacinto College faculty and staff attended the Texas Association of Black Personnel Higher Education’s (TABPHE) 43rd Annual State Conference in Ft. Worth, March 3-5, 2016. This year, 18 San Jacinto staff members attended the conference. During this time, San Jac was well-represented. Dean Joseph Hebert ended his tenure as TABPHE State President. After serving as the Vice President of Membership (2012-2014) and on the TABPHE State Board of Directors (2014-2016), Professor Ralph Penn continues to serve in the role of a Fellows mentor. Mr. Ron Hopkins and Mr. Brad Treywick conducted a mentoring presentation which highlighted the Men of Honor program. Mrs. Lauren Parish-Williams serves as a TABPHE Fellow. Dr. DeRhonda McWaine will continue to serve as the Chair of the TABPHE Scholarship Committee. Dr. Lamar McWaine will continue to serve as the TABPHE Historian and Co-Chair of the TABPHE Fellows Committee. Dr. DeRhonda McWaine, Dr. Lamar McWaine, Dr. Alexander Okwonna, Dr. Brenda Jones, and Professor Ralph Penn remain actively involved as TABPHE Life Members. Dr. Alexander Okwonna was elected to the TABPHE State Board of Directors.

    TABPHE will host its 2018 conference in Houston, which Dr. Lamar McWaine and Dr. Alexander Okwonna have been asked to chair.

Compose new post
Next post/Next comment
Previous post/Previous comment
Show/Hide comments
Go to top
Go to login
Show/Hide help
shift + esc