Updates from May, 2013 Toggle Comment Threads | Keyboard Shortcuts

  • amanda.fenwick 3:36 pm on May 21, 2013 Permalink | Reply
    Tags: , , , , ,   

    North Campus advisors honored 

    Vet GroupKudos to student advisors Jo Eggebrecht and Michael Palmer, who were recently named Advisors of the Year by the Student Life Office, due to their dedication and professionalism. (More …)

  • amanda.fenwick 2:45 pm on May 8, 2013 Permalink | Reply
    Tags: , , , , , , ,   

    North Campus recognizes ESOL students 

    ESOL Completers 5-13

    Kudos to Dr. Ra Shaunda Sterling, Maria Williams, and Lisa Smith for coordinating a recent ceremony to recognize students who completed the North Campus ESOL coursework, including Uyen Hoang, Giovanna Randazzo, Brenda Giron, and Titilayo Moyosore.

    At the ceremony, faculty and staff members gave presentations to ESOL students (completers and others) about various academic and technical programs, as well as student services available at the College.

    The presenters included Alfredo Gomez, Sergio Garcia, Dinorah Ramos, Sean Perrodin, Diana Johnson, and Caresal Bolds.

  • wpadmin 4:51 pm on April 19, 2013 Permalink | Reply  

    Congratulations to Amanda Rose and J’Banisha May! 


    Congratulations to Amanda Rose and J’Banisha May for their recent selections to serve as representatives with the Texas Junior College Student Government Association (TJCSGA).

    Amanda Rose, coordinator of student life at the Central Campus, was re-elected as president of the TJCSGA advisors association for 2013-14. As president, she will continue to provide resources for Student Government Association (SGA) advisors at community colleges in Texas and keeping advisors updated on association news.

    J’Banisha May will serve as president of Region V, which includes community colleges in the southeast region of Texas. Rose will also serve as the Region V advisor.

    The TJCSGA is the only student maintained organization in the state that works to promote the cause of community college students at the local, regional, state and national level. It is composed of more than 72 member colleges across the state. The member colleges are divided into six regional districts drawn at the county level and meet at Fall and Spring annual conferences to coordinate activities and to help plan the state convention.

  • andrea.vasquez 10:02 am on November 6, 2012 Permalink | Reply  

    Dixon Bennett receives appreciation award 

    San Jacinto College South Campus art professor Dixon Bennett was recently presented with an award of appreciation from the campus’ fine arts department. (More …)

  • wpadmin 10:55 am on November 5, 2012 Permalink | Reply  

    Congratulations Serita! 

    The San Jacinto College Association of Educational Office Professionals (AEOP) chapter recently held a Bosses Appreciation Luncheon, where Serita Dickey, North Campus dean of allied health and sciences, was honored as the 2012 AEOP Boss of the Year. (More …)

  • wpadmin 4:18 pm on August 15, 2012 Permalink | Reply  

    Congratulations, Sharon! 

    Sharon Sledge, San Jacinto College mathematics professor, has been elected president of the Texas Mathematical Association of Two-Year Colleges (TexMATYC).

    Sledge will serve in her new position for two years and represent Texas two-year community college mathematics’ faculty at state and national meetings. She has been a member of TexMATYC for 25 years and a faculty member at San Jacinto College for 31 years.

    “I’m excited about the opportunities to represent the association in Austin to discuss mathematics education in the state of Texas,” said Sledge, who also serves as event coordinator for all San Jacinto College robotics competitions that are affiliated with the national organization, FIRST (For Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology) Tech Challenge. “By offering a statewide forum for the interchange of ideas among faculty and colleges, TexMATYC ultimately develops and improves the mathematics education and experiences of students in two-year colleges. With all the changes and challenges confronting mathematics at the legislative level, it is good to have our voice speaking on behalf of the math community.”

    The Texas association represents more than 1,500 mathematics faculty members from all community colleges across the state of Texas and is a partner to the American Mathematical Association of Two-Year Colleges (AMATYC).

    “Sharon Sledge’s appointment as president to this prestigious state committee evidences her commitment to mathematical education and demonstrates the confidence that her state wide colleagues have in her as they work together to provide a voice for the direction and development of mathematics education in the great state of Texas,” said Dr. Barbara Hanson, vice president for learning at the San Jacinto College Central Campus.

    • Neil Matkin 1:25 pm on August 18, 2012 Permalink | Reply

      Way to go Sharon!

  • amanda.fenwick 11:29 am on April 16, 2012 Permalink | Reply
    Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,   

    Good times at the 50th Anniversary Picnic 

    A good time was had by all at the San Jacinto College 50th Anniversary employee picnic, held on April 14.

    Chancellor Dr. Brenda Hellyer, along with her husband Rusty, greeted and mingled with employees and their friends and relatives. The Hellyer’s boy Riley joined with other little ones romping around on huge inflatable play stations. (More …)

    • Charlotte Jackson 4:07 pm on April 17, 2012 Permalink | Reply

      Some of the most beautiful people were on hand to celebrate a great institution and our rich history. So thankful to be a part of the San Jac Family.

  • amanda.fenwick 9:42 am on May 11, 2011 Permalink | Reply
    Tags: , , , ,   

    Teri Fowle honored for service 

    Teri Fowle was recently selected to participate in the prestigious Chief Marketing Officer Forum, which is an invitation-only group for executive level marketing professionals from companies in the Houston area. Chancellor Dr. Brenda Hellyer, right, presented Teri, associate vice chancellor of marketing, with a certificate of recognition during the May 2 Board of Trustees meeting. Dr. Hellyer thanked Teri for her tireless efforts and proactive approach to promoting and marketing San Jacinto College.
    Congratulations Teri, and thank you for all you do for San Jacinto College.

  • andrea.vasquez 12:08 pm on April 1, 2011 Permalink | Reply  

    20th Annual SJC Service Awards 

    San Jacinto College employees were recognized for years of service to the College on March 25, 2011 at Brady’s Landing Restaurant. Kelly Davis, Emily Earnest, and Darla Lackey (pictured above) from human resources served as the main coordinators for the event. (More …)

  • amanda.fenwick 10:42 am on March 23, 2011 Permalink | Reply
    Tags: , , , , ,   

    Super Counselor 

    Ludith Gonzalez is a Very Important Counselor

    Ludith Gonzalez, who serves as a shared counselor for North campus at Galena Park High School, was recently selected as a 2011 Very Important Counselor for Texas A&M University. The A&M Very Important Counselor program recognizes the outstanding service and important work of counselors, teachers, and personnel who guide students on the path to college. Ludith was nominated by Texas A&M representatives, and she is one of only 24 people in the state to earn the honor.

    Congratulations Ludith, and thank you for all you do for San Jacinto College! Keep up the good work!

Compose new post
Next post/Next comment
Previous post/Previous comment
Show/Hide comments
Go to top
Go to login
Show/Hide help
shift + esc