Jones named 2018 Business Person of the Year

The Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) and Phi Beta Lambda (PBL) Business Honor Society recently named Dr. Brenda Jones, San Jacinto College South Campus provost, its 2018 Business Person of the Year.

Jones has more than 18 years serving in community college education. Her dedication to student success is evident in the College’s recent endeavors and recognitions. As a member of the College’s Strategic Leadership Team, Jones assisted in the promotional efforts that helped to pass the College’s 2015 bond referendum, allocating $425 million for building renovations, technology upgrades and new building construction. In 2016, she led the team that secured San Jacinto College’s partnership with Baylor University as one of 10 Texas community colleges chosen to be part of their Baylor Bound transfer program. Jones also had a significant impact on the College receiving the 2017 Aspen Institute Rising Star Award as one of the top five community colleges in the nation and its recent consecutive nomination as a top 10 finalist for the 2019 Aspen Prize for Community College Excellence.

“It is an honor to be selected as the 2018 the Future Business Leaders of America and Phi Beta Lambda Business Person of the Year,” said Jones. “Our PBL students are some of the brightest, talented leaders in their communities, and their career aspirations as future business leaders are well in the making. Our College has always been champions of PBL and the valuable opportunities it provides for our students.”

As an innovative and visionary leader, she has been recognized at the state, national and international levels. From 2011 to June 2018, she has received a number of awards that emphasize her dynamic leadership in higher education. These awards include the 2011 Association of Educational Office Personnel (AEOP) Boss of the Year Award; the 2012 Chair Academy Idahlynn Karre International Exemplary Leader Award for global leadership in higher education; the 2013 San Jacinto College Excellence Award for administration; the 2016 Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) International Honor Society Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction and the Texas regional Hallmark Award; 2017 PTK District IV CEO Hall of Honor inductee; and in June 2018 she was named a PTK Alumni of Distinction.

Each year at its national conference, FBLA-PBL recognizes one outstanding national business leader who has contributed to the success of their community as well as a local, district or state chapter of FBLA-PBL. Eligible award recipients exemplify a career of long term business success; demonstrate a continued commitment to the success of students in the local chapter by serving as a role model and mentor; promote and encourage the development and utilization of innovation, creativity and cutting-edge best practices within their institution and local chapter; and serve as a strong advocate for the continued growth, sustainability and support of their local FBLA-PBL Chapter and students.