New grant news!

Leaders across the College are doing great things!

National Science Foundation – Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation.  Through this program the College intends to significantly increase participation of minorities in STEM to go on to earn a baccalaureate in Science, Technology Engineering or Math (STEM) $240,065 – Sharon Sledge, Leader

NASA  Space Grant Consortium – Opportunity for Community Colleges.  This grant program aims to assist San Jacinto College (SJC) to recruit and retain students in STEM careers by leveraging the resources of NASA and engaging students and teachers in NASA’s missions – Total Project – $485,340 – Leader TBD

U.S. Department of Education – Adult Literacy Program.  Partnering with the recipient, Houston Galveston Area Council, the grant purpose of is to increase the literacy of our community by promoting English literature, civics education, English as a second language, and other programs.  $400,000 – Jaynie Mitchel, Leader

U.S. Department of Education – Carl Perkins WECM Maintenance.  The Workforce Education Course Manual must be reviewed and revised.  This project involves maintaining currency of the manual through a review by educators throughout the state.  SJC serves as the leader of this program. $159,912 Jeffrey Parks, Leader

U.S. Department of Education – Carl Perkins  Program of Study.  The grant asks SJC to lead the development of a strategic plan to promote curriculum pathway projects, to sustain support of AcheiveTexas , and  to align the program of study with other  state agencies.  $152,564 – Jeffrey Parks, Leader

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board – Texas-STEM (T-STEM) Scholarships.  Scholarships for promising STEM scholars are funded through this project the College has repeated as a winner of this award for 3 straight years.  263,160 – Sharon Sledge, Leader

Elkins Foundation / Texas Historical Asso. – Walter Prescott Webb Historical Society.  The award funds the activities of the Society.  Through SJC history departments, the Society encourages students to discover, write, and publish the history of Texas.  $33,750 – Diane Heafer, Marcus Turner, Abbie Grubb – Leaders