June board meeting highlights

Here are the highlights from the June 2013 Board of Trustees meeting.


June board meeting_0002

Dr. Laurel Williamson, Deputy Chancellor and College President, recognized Ed Tech employees Niki Whiteside, Sherry Ransdell, Huff Mann, Laura Armer, Sedrick Sexton, and David Kohne for receiving the Innovation of the Year award from the League for Innovation.















June board meeting_0004

The Albemarle Foundation presented a $40,000 check to the San Jacinto College Foundation in support of student scholarships. Pictured, left to right, are: Mike Speegle, San Jacinto College process technology; Jeff Parks, San Jacinto College Central Campus dean of industrial and applied technology; Amir Sabahi, Albemarle; Ruth Keenan, executive director, San Jacinto College Foundation; Paul Chapman, Albemarle; Rayna Headrick, Albemarle; Matt Thomas, Albemarle; Rick Weimer, Albemarle; Ralph Elkins, Albemarle; and Dr. Brenda Hellyer, San Jacinto College Chancellor.
















June board meeting_0005

Haworth FMG presented the College with its annual rebate check in the amount of $53,016.51. Since the inception of the contract in 2010, Haworth has given back $104,469 to San Jacinto College that has been used to support the College’s mission and further student success. Pictured, left to right, are: Ann Kokx-Templet, San Jacinto College director of purchasing; Severin Zindler, San Jacinto College purchasing buyer; Jamie Moritz, Haworth FMG; Randi Faust, San Jacinto College purchasing buyer; Dr. Brenda Hellyer, San Jacinto College chancellor; Alyson Wilson, Haworth FMG; and Ken Lynn, San Jacinto College vice chancellor for fiscal affairs.
















June board meeting_0010

Four Central Campus music students were recognized for receiving scholarships. Pictured, from left to right: Mark Klinger (will attend Belmont University in the Fall), Oscar Cruz (San Jacinto College student and recipient of the Claire Nelson scholarship), Central Campus fine arts department chair Eric Late, Emily Thomasson (former San Jacinto College student who is now at Baylor University on a full ride), Provost Van Wigginton, Crystal Anaya (will attend the University of North Texas next year with a $24,000 scholarship), Central Campus music instructor Joseph Schenck, and San Jacinto College Chancellor Dr. Brenda Hellyer.
















June board meeting_0013

Trustee Marie Flickinger was sworn in for another term by Daniel Snooks, as trustee John Moon, Jr., looks on.
















June board meeting_0018

Trustee Larry Wilson was sworn in for another term by his daughter, Cari, as trustee John Moon, Jr., looks on.