May board meeting recognitions

The May meeting of the San Jacinto College Board of Trustees was packed full of recognitions of employees from the three campuses.

Dr. H. Neil Matkin, Central Campus president, recognized Dr. Deborah Myles, dean of student development at the Central Campus, for receiving a scholarship award for her studies. Congratulations, Dr. Myles!

Dr. Matkin also recognized Central Campus student life coordinator Amanda Rose for being elected as president of the advisors association during the recent Texas Junior College Student Government Association (TJCSGA) convention in Austin, Texas. Way to go Amanda!

Dr. Matkin recognized Sharon Sledge for her selection as president of the Texas Mathematical Association of Two Year Colleges. Congratulations Sharon!

Saul Zarco was recognized by Dr. Matkin for being elected to serve as the Gulf Coast regional representative for the Texas Association of Chicanos in Higher Education (TACHE). Congratulations Saul!

North Campus President Dr. Allatia Harris, along with Dr. Gary Friery and Don Clayton, recognized Roy Allice and Joel Dumesnil of Stewart and Stevenson for their continued support of the diesel technology program. Thank you Stewart and Stevenson!

Dr. Harris also recognized Leigh Ann Williams for being named Texas Intercollegiate Forensics Association Teacher of the Year. Nice job Leigh Ann!

The Galena Park fire department recognized Glen Kirkwood for his assistance in restoring an antique fire truck. Thanks, Glen!

Finally, Dr. Maureen Murphy, president at the South Campus, and Eddie Weller, recognized Cheryl Fasullo for the success of her Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) service learning project. Way to go Cheryl!