AAWCC summer banquet

The San Jacinto College chapter of the American Association of Women in Community Colleges (AAWCC) held its summer banquet Tuesday night at the Monument Inn in La Porte. Former Harris County Pct. 2 Commissioner Sylvia Garcia was the featured speaker, and new officers for the 2011-2012 year were elected.

Garcia opened by thanking the nearly 30 women in attendance for their service to the community, and to the College and its students. She spoke about the history of the area, as Texas is in its 175th anniversary celebration. Garcia played an active role in bringing the epic art that you see on many of the tanks in the industrial portion of the county. She worked tirelessly to raise funds for the project, and continues to assist with project today. Although not still in public office, she noted that she plans to continue to be involved with the community. She was a tremendous guest. Thank you Sylvia Garcia!

New officers for the 2011-2012 year were elected, and will begin their service in September. They are: Dr. Toni Pendergrass, President; Kelly Simons, Vice President; Amanda Booren, Secretary; and Bernadina Streeter, Treasurer / Membership. Congratulations to these women on your new positions!

In addition, Dr. Maureen Murphy will begin her reign as president of the national AAWCC organization this Fall. Congratulations Dr. Murphy!

The evening was full of great food and fellowship. A special thank you to Niki Whiteside and Dr. Sallie Kay Janes for organizing the dinner. It was wonderful!