Chemical association awards 4 scholarships

Shown at the Houston Chemical Association scholarship presentation are from left (front row): Ruben Ramirez, San Jacinto College science lab supervisor; SJC students Roy Williams, Bruce Livingston, Sergio Ortuno, and Eliazar Nava; (back row): Jerry Schweiger, HCA scholarship committee chair; David Fortune, HCA vice president; and SJC chemistry professors Joyce Miller and Bennie Jenkins.

Kudos to Susan Arscott, the College’s vice president of resource development, for working with the Houston Chemical Association (HCA) to arrange for student scholarships. HCA recently awarded scholarships to four San Jacinto College students who are majoring in chemistry — Roy Williams, Bruce Livingston, Sergio Ortuno, and Eliazar Nava. Each student received a $500 scholarship.

“The San Jacinto College Foundation is extremely grateful to the Houston Chemical Association for thinking of our students,” Arscott commented. “Allowing our faculty to select the recipients is a great way to ensure HCA’s donation goes to worthy students. I appreciate the HCA for their generosity.”

Faculty members representing the College at a recent scholarship luncheon include Ruben Ramirez, Central campus science lab supervisor; Joyce Miller, South campus chemistry professor; and Bennie Jenkins, North campus chemistry professor.

The Houston Chemical Association, with offices in downtown Houston, includes people employed by firms and corporations engaged principally in the manufacturing or distribution of chemicals. Each year the HCA awards scholarships to college students who meet the association’s qualifications and who are selected by faculty.