Updates from December, 2014 Toggle Comment Threads | Keyboard Shortcuts

  • 10:06 am on December 3, 2014 Permalink | Reply  

    Politico News to feature San Jacinto College 

    A production crew hired by Politico News visited San Jacinto College on Monday, Dec. 1, to discuss workforce training. Central Campus Dean of Industrial and Professional Services, Jeff Parks, was interviewed, along with process technology student Maurissia Carter. The three to four minute piece about Houston’s economy and booming workforce is scheduled to air the week of Jan. 5. Thank you Dean Parks and Maurissia for representing San Jacinto College so well!

    image2.JPG

    Dean Jeff Parks is interviewed for a piece on Politico News.

    Maurissia Carter is interviewed for a piece on Politico News.

    Maurissia Carter is interviewed for a piece on Politico News.

     
  • 4:40 pm on December 2, 2014 Permalink | Reply  

    NASA Community College Aerospace Scholars Information 

    Please share this information with your students!

    The NASA Community College Aerospace Scholars (NCAS) application is now open for the spring session!
    Community college students interested in exploring a STEM career at NASA can apply today to become a NASA Community College Aerospace Scholar.
    Scholars learn about past, present and future Mars mission in a 5-week online session beginning January 2015. Scholars who successfully complete the web-based activities may be eligible for a 3-day workshop at NASA, where they will:

    • Work on a team project directed by NASA engineers
    • Attend briefings by NASA engineers and scientists
    • Tour NASA facilities
    • Open the door to a world of career possibilities at NASA!

    Visit the NCAS website for additional details: http://ncas.aerospacescholars.org/
    Please contact Maria Chambers with additional questions at JSC-NCAS@mail.nasa.gov.
    Don’t Wait! Apply Today! Applications due Dec 15, 2014.

    NASA Community College Aerospace Scholars Information Sessions
    Attend a one-hour online* presentation to learn more about project requirements and benefits. Students and faculty welcome.

    Tue December 2: 3pm to 4pm Central (4pm ET, 2pm MT, 1pm Pacific)
    Tue December 9: 6pm to 7pm Central (7pm ET, 5pm MT, 4pm Pacific)
    Thurs December 11: 5pm to 6pm Central (6pm ET, 4pm MT, 3pm Pacific)
    Link to join the session: http://go.nasa.gov/1DStDXV
    When prompted for your name please enter your first and last name and the college you attend. For example: Clark Kent-Smallville Community College
    *Download the free Blackboard Collaborate Mobile App from your App store to attend via smartphone or tablet.
    *View the hardware and software pre-requisites for using Blackboard Collaborate.

     
  • 4:22 pm on December 2, 2014 Permalink | Reply  

    2015 Summer Camp Information Request 

    In an effort to increase participation in community programs such as Summer camps, we are collecting information about Summer camps now so that advertising and promotion of these activities can begin in March 2015. It may seem early for some of you, but in order for us to compile the most complete list of all of the Summer camps happening throughout the College, we need to get that information this Fall to begin promoting in March. (More …)

     
c
Compose new post
j
Next post/Next comment
k
Previous post/Previous comment
r
Reply
e
Edit
o
Show/Hide comments
t
Go to top
l
Go to login
h
Show/Hide help
shift + esc
Cancel