Update – September 12, 2017

on September 12, 2017 in Weekly Update

Good afternoon San Jacinto College Community!

San Jacinto College Organizational Announcement

Dr. Catherine O’Brien retired at the end of academic year 2016-17 after many years of outstanding service to the College. To address areas under her leadership and respond to the work of Pathways and institutional changes over time, several organizational and personnel changes will occur this month as we start the new academic year.

Ms. Martha Robertson is being appointed Assistant Vice Chancellor for Teaching and Learning and will report to Dr. Laurel Williamson. She will lead the Pathways work and will coordinate programmatic benchmarks, timelines, progress, and support functions; and she will chair the Curriculum Steering Committee and oversee curriculum and catalog development. She will continue in her leadership role in the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning (CETL), which will focus on classroom teaching and learning and full and part-time faculty professional development.

Dr. Kelly Mizell is being appointed Director of Pathways and Special Projects and will report to Ms. Martha Robertson. Dr. Mizell will continue to chair the Pathways Leadership Council and oversee the organizational structure and work of Pathways across the College. She will lead special projects associated with Pathways and faculty development.  Her office will be located at the Central Campus in the CETL.

Ms. Rosemary Morales, Coordinator of Curriculum Development, is being re-assigned to CETL on Central Campus. She will report to Ms. Martha Robertson, and her office will be located on the second floor of the ILC at Central Campus.

Dr. Michelle Selk is being appointed Manager of Assessment in the Office of Accreditation and Assessment and will report to Dr. Chris Duke.  She will serve as a member of the SACSCOC Self-study Leadership Team and will oversee development and documentation of assessment processes and closing-the-loop strategies and support for the development of program (degree)-level outcomes and attendant assessment strategies.

Mr. Matt Lewis is being appointed Analyst, Qualitative Research, and will report to Dr. Chris Duke. He will continue his leadership role for SmartStart and work in the areas of program review, institutional effectiveness, and big data. His office will be on the second floor of the District Building.

Ms. Michelle Callaway is being appointed Manager of Program Review in the office of Institutional Research and Effectiveness. She will continue to report to Mr. George Gonzalez and continue her work in programming and research.

Dr. Pam Campbell will provide leadership in the area of transfer articulation and will lead the work in the University Center on Central Campus. The University Center will provide opportunities for universities to schedule advising for transfer students throughout the year and will house select university partners to support professional development for San Jac employees and school district teachers who seek discipline credentials for college-level teaching.

Ms. Julie Blacksmith, Senior Administrative Assistant, will provide support for the University Center and report to Dr. Pam Campbell. Her office will be located in the University Center.

Dr. William Raffetto will provide leadership in the organization and scale-up of service learning.

Mr. Van Wigginton will provide leadership and oversight for the federal Perkins grant and will chair the Instructional Deans Council.

Dr. Brenda Jones will provide leadership for the Honors Program, and Dr. Eddie Weller will report to Dr. Jones.

Ms. Joanna Zimmermann will chair the Instruction and Student Services Council and lead an assessment of that Council and its functions.

Please join me in congratulating these individuals, and thank you for your continued support of San Jacinto College and our students.



Leave a Reply